wednesday 19 december 2018 The weatherDetails
TidesDetails

For meetings

In the centre of the Regional National Park between Boulogne/mer and Le Touquet, Neufchâtel (village) and Hardelot (seaside) offer you a wide choice.

A long gallop on the beach, a game of golf in the heart of the pines, a tennis tournament or a family bicycle ride, emotions with the sea, so many pleasures to discover or get others to discover.
Hotels, Gîtes and Bed & Breakfasts will allow you to relax in comfort after the effort put in.

Your holiday programme is likely to be busy : sports enthusiasts, gourmets and sightseers, whether young or less young, will be absolutely thrilled!

A little History

In 1905, John Whitley, the owner of Hardelot castle since 1897, was charmed by the site. He wanted to turn Hardelot into the new fashionable seaside resort and the social center of sports. On his Board of Directors he brought together industrialists and Parisian and foreign dignitaries, including Prince Tata from Bombay and the Duke of Argyll from Scotland.

As early as 1908, the famous architect Louis-Marie Cordonnier, a friend of John Whitley’s, produced 20 vast and unusual villas that still characterise Hardelot today. One was built in1911 for the illustrious aviator Louis Bleriot, the designer of the first French aeroplage, the forerunner of the sand yacht.

Hardelot enjoyed immense success, in particular with the British aristocrats and the pioneers of the period. At the height of its glory, it also received King Georges V and Queen Mary, as well as the sovereigns of Belgium (in 1917). Since then Hardelot has modernised itself, but it still retains its airs and graces of yesteryear.

Find out more

Its History in detail

It was from Hardelot in 595 that Saint Augustine set sail to evangelise the south of England and become the first Bishop of Canterbury.

From the 11th century onwards, Hardelot housed a wooden fortress which protected the site against the Norman invasions. It was replaced in the 13th century by a castle built by the Counts of Boulogne.

In the 19th century the castle was in ruins when it was bought by an Englishman, Sir John Hare, who, in 1848, had it rebuilt in a neo-medieval style.

In 1905, another British business man, Sir John Whitley, won over by the immensity of the beach, the luxurious forest and an ideal situation half-way between Paris and London, decided to turn Hardelot into a "world sports centre". He had a golf course laid out and used the castle as the clubhouse. The castle tower was the starting point of the golf course. The first villas were built in 1906. Built in the same year, Hardelot church was at that time only a little chapel close to the black road. Until 1910 only teachers on holiday performed mass.

At that time the young Louis Bleriot saw in these immense beaches an ideal training ground for aviation. This was where he prepared his first solo flight across the Channel.

In 1910 Hardelot became a parish thanks to Abbot Bouly, the priest of Condette. He was water diviner and a radiesthesia practitioner and cured bodies and souls with plants. He worked until his death on the world of vibrations. In 1934 the Hardelot Company sold the castle to him. He then founded the Congregation of the Sisters of Saint Agnes. He now lies buried in Condette graveyard.

In 1910 the train directly linking Rheims - Boulogne and Neufchâtel brought in inhabitants from the Champagne area lured by the qualities of the resort.

1911 saw the arrival of the electric tramway which replaced the coach service linking Hardelot with Boulogne to great advantage.

At the beginning of the 1920s, a hundred or so houses and chalets sprung up along the seafront and around the tennis courts. People came there for "sea-bathing" and the quality of life or on the advice of their doctors for its “invigorating” air. In 1913 Hardelot was officially classified a "climatic resort".

In 1930 the English architect Tom Simpson traced, with the aid of a compass, a magnificent 18-hole golf course endowing Hardelot with one of the most highly considered golf links in Europe.

The two world wars put a sudden stop to the development of Hardelot. At the end of the Second World War, the bombings virtually razed everything to the ground. Only 8 villas remained alongside the 54 German blockhouses.

After the war, Hardelot slowly emerged from its ashes thanks to fresh enthusiasm. With the war damage, Claude Lefebvre, the grandson of Louis-Marie Cordonnier, rebuilt a certain number of the villas destroyed.

In 1954 Hardelot was joined up with Neufchâtel at the request of the State. In 1958 the Lille property developer Joseph Lesur bought the Hardelot Company and gave a fresh impetus to the resort, with the aid of his sons, José and Francis. In 1999, the latter sold the Hardelot Domain Company to Nicolas Boissonnas.

Hardelot photos

It happened in 2015

Hardelot en Vidéo

lundi 24 juillet 2017 La météoDétail
Les maréesDétail

Pour les rendez-vous

Au centre du Parc Naturel Régional entre Boulogne / mer et Le Touquet, Neufchâtel (village) et Hardelot (balnéaire) vous offrent le choix.

Un grand galop sur la plage, une partie de golf au coeur des pins, un tournoi de tennis ou une balade à vélo en famille, des émotions avec la mer autant de plaisirs à découvrir ou à faire découvrir.
Hôtels, gîtes et chambres d'hôtes rendront votre détente confortable après l'effort.

Votre programme de vacances risque d'être chargé : car sportifs, gourmands et curieux, jeunes et moins jeunes seront comblés !

Un peu d'Histoire

En 1905, John Whitley, propriétaire du château d'Hardelot depuis 1897, est charmé par le site. Il veut faire d'Hardelot la nouvelle station balnéaire à la mode et le centre mondain des sports. Il réunit en son Conseil d'Administration des industriels ainsi que des personnalités parisiennes et étrangères, dont le Prince Tata de Bombay et le Duc d'Argyll d'Angleterre.

Dès 1908, le célèbre architecte Louis-Marie Cordonnier, ami de John Whitley, réalise 20 vastes et singulières villas qui caractérisent encore aujourd'hui Hardelot. Dont celle, en 1911, de l'illustre aviateur Louis Blériot concepteur du premier aéroplage français, l'ancêtre du char à voile.

Hardelot connaît vite un immense succès, notamment chez les aristocrates britanniques et les pionniers de cette époque. A ses heures de gloire, elle accueillit également le roi Georges V et la reine Mary, ainsi que les souverains de Belgique (en 1917). Depuis Hardelot s'est modernisée, mais garde toujours ses charmants airs d'autrefois.

En savoir plus

L'Histoire dans les détails

C'est à Hardelot qu'en 595 Saint Augustin prend la mer pour évangéliser le sud de l'Angleterre et devenir le premier évêque de Canterbury.

A partir du XIème siècle, Hardelot abrite une forteresse en bois qui protège le site contre les invasions normande. Elle est remplacée au XIIIème siècle par un château fort construit par les Comtes de Boulogne.

Au XIXème siècle, le château est en ruine lorsqu'il est acheté par un anglais, Sir John Hare qui, en 1848, le fait reconstruire dans un style néo-médiéval.

En 1905, un autre homme d'affaire britannique, Sir John Whitley, séduit par les grandes étendues de plage, la forêt luxuriante et une situation idéale à mi-chemin entre Paris et Londres, décide de faire d'Hardelot un "centre mondial du sport". Il fait aménager un terrain de golf, utilise le château comme club house. La tour du château sera le point de départ du parcours du golf. Les premières villas seront construites en 1906. L'église d'Hardelot n'était à l'époque qu'une petite chapelle édifiée en 1906 près de la route noire. Jusqu'en 1910 seuls les professeurs en vacances assuraient la messe.

A la même époque, le jeune Louis Blériot voit dans ces immenses plages un terrain d'entraînement idéal pour l'aviation. C'est là qu'il prépare son premier survol de la Manche en solitaire.

En 1910, Hardelot devient une paroisse grâce à l'abbé Bouly, curé de Condette. Celui-ci, sourcier et radiesthésiste, soignait les corps et les âmes avec des plantes. Il travaillera jusqu'à sa mort sur le monde des vibrations. En 1934, la Société d'Hardelot lui cède le château. Il fonde alors la congrégation des soeurs de Ste Agnès. Il repose aujourd'hui au cimetière de Condette.

En 1910 le train reliant directement Reims - Boulogne - Neufchâtel amène des Champenois séduits par les qualités de la station.

1911 voit l'arrivée du tramway électrique qui remplace avantageusement le service de voitures reliant Hardelot à Boulogne.

Au début des années 20, une centaine de maisons et chalets s'établissent en bord de mer et autour des terrains de tennis. On y venait pour "les bains de mer" et la qualité de vie ou sur les conseils des médecins pour son air "vivifiant". En 1913, Hardelot est classée officiellement "station climatique".

En 1930 l'architecte anglais Tom Simpson trace, à l'aide d'une boussole, un magnifique parcours de 18 trous, dotant Hardelot d'un des golfs les plus réputés d'Europe.

Les deux guerres mondiales stoppent brutalement le développement d'Hardelot. A la fin de la deuxième guerre, les bombardements ont presque tout rasé. Seules 8 villas subsistent à côté de 54 blockhaus allemands.

Après la guerre, Hardelot renaît lentement de ses cendres grâce à de nouveaux passionnés. Avec les dommages de guerre, Claude Lefebvre, petit-fils de Louis-Marie Cordonnier, reconstruit un certain nombre des villas détruites.

En 1954, Hardelot sera rattaché à Neufchâtel à la demande de l'Etat. En 1958, le promoteur lillois Joseph Lesur achète la Société d'Hardelot et relance la station, avec l'aide de ses fils, José et Francis. En 1999, ceux-ci revendent la Société du Domaine d'Hardelot à Nicolas Boissonnas.

Pour tout savoir sur le blason de la commune de Neufchâtel-Hardelot

Hardelot en photos

Ça s'est passé en 2015

Hardelot en Vidéo